Welcome to da ‘Boro.

Coming from a small town in southwest Georgia I am use to doing a lot of nothing. I’m use to riding dirt roads with no seat belt on and a Natty Light in the cup-holder of a red truck watching the dust clouds out the rear view mirror; I’m use to waking up to my daddy’s alarm going off at 4 a.m. to go fishing on a warm April morning; And, I’m use to walking into a bar getting a slap in the butt because someone is happy to see me.

Truthfully, there isn’t much to do in this tiny town. And, unfortunately, I don’t know any dirt roads that I would feel comfortable zipping up and down. Plus,  I’ve heard too many horror stories to want ride anywhere without a seat belt on (let alone a Natty in the center console.) My mother and father would have a heart attack if I called them to say A) I was arrested B) they needed to come bail me out and C) I was banned from Statesboro. I’d probably rot in the Bulloch County jailhouse before Greg and Kathy made that 180 mile drive.

Anyways, I would want my friend to come during football season; it is the best part of the year. The feeling that Statesboro gets on a Saturday afternoon is unlike any other. Standing in the stands screaming “Georgia SOUTHERN” with 16,000 of my closest friends warms my soul and makes me proud of my school. Getting all dressed in gameday attire to drink  beer out of a keg on Robinhood is something I think everyone should experience. Paulson (and the Georgia Southern campus) is too pretty not to want to show off.

Also, the sad reality is that if one of my friends came to visit me I would want to take them to the bar. Actually, I would want to take them to the bar on a Sunday because selling alcohol on Sundays is a HUGE deal here.  Then, I would call Shuttle Gus to come get us. Where else could someone say that a SCHOOL, of all places, sponsors a free, safe ride home after a wild night out at all of the bars in the Plaza. The bars aren’t the coolest, but they serve their purpose.

There’s really nowhere else I find really enjoyable or exciting. I mean, I wouldn’t take them to our Wal-Mart. Everyone and their mother goes grocery shopping everyday of the year (I swear that’s a fact.) Or the various fast food chains located all over the town.; if someone has seen one Burger King, they’ve seen them all. And I sure wouldn’t want to show our lovely Fast N Easy gas stations off, they are a little too creepy for me.

But, of course the first thing I would say when they got out of the car would be “Welcome to da ‘Boro!”

Picture from: Susan Butler’s Facebook page:

http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=10100213253036331&set=a.795644051111.2367618.33011964&type=3&theater

9 responses to “Welcome to da ‘Boro.

  1. Oh game days! My favorite days at Georgia Southern as well! If I had a friend coming into town on a game day, then obviously I would take them to all the tailgating parties and the game for their first Boro experience! When you’re at the games, it’s a different feeling than other days in Statesboro; you really do feel like all the people you are around are your closest friends… Besides the opposing team’s fans of course!

  2. Okay, I am sitting here at work and I just busted out laughing!! This was too funny!! “I would rot in BC Jail”. This is by far my favorite post for this class! I am from a small town too, and thats all that we ever done too, beisdes ride four wheelers all the time. And you’re right, Statesboro isnt the safest place to ride dirties 😦 I dont know what it is about this place, but yeahhhh I wouldnt recommend it!! 🙂 Great post!! 😀

  3. Pingback: Welcome to the “Boro Comments! « ellison2011

  4. It doesn’t surprise me that our two things we would do if friends came in town are exactly the same. Bars and experiencing a Saturday in Statesboro. I feel though, like these are great representations of the city and ones that would leave a lasting impression. If it’s one thing us Georgia Southerner’s know how to do, it’s how to show someone a good time!

  5. Pingback: Responses to Blog #9 « kathleenpbrown

  6. I love this post. Way to bring the boro back to your roots and give us insight on your lifestyle. I enjoyed your “dirt roads” peice. I have had the pleasure of riding a dirt road with my co-workers who are also a statesboro natives. It was an interesting experience looking for some headless ghost with a lantern.. But overall a fun time. Lol

  7. I would take my friends from out of town to the Georgia Southern football games as well! Your post made me laugh. So funny!

  8. That’s always fun. I come from the opposite place, the city, but I completely understand where you are coming from!

  9. Pingback: Responses #9 « jchenice

Leave a comment

Categories