Spring semester–it’s time to shine.

Personally, I am beyond excited that this semester is coming to an end. Not because I hated PR Writing, but because I hated all of my other classes–and by hate I mean if I never see a journal article again it would be too soon.  This semester I pulled more all nighters in one week than in my entire life. And, I mean, this beautiful weather hasn’t really helped the cause.

Although this class was a ton of writing (hence, PR WRITING), I really learned some valuable skills that I will keep with me–probably forever. Intro to PR didn’t prepare me for the amount of press releases I had to write this semester, but I’m glad there were several useful examples that helped the creation process.  I not only had to write press releases in this class; another one of my major related classes, News Report and Writing, required me to put my handy dandy press release writing skills to the test. News Report and Writing is another one of those classes I will not miss. Attention professors: if you are a jerk who doesn’t teach nor cares to give an explanation to why something is wrong DON’T expect your students to care. (That wasn’t me pointing fingers or anything!)

As a PR professional, it is going to be required to write press releases, compile media kits, and use creativity. I feel that we did each of these things this semester which has boosted my confidence and knowledge. I also really enjoyed our weekly blogs and discussions. If you can’t tell, I love talking and expressing myself, so being able to form  my own opinions on topics that were interesting and challenging at times was a highlight of my week.

I’ve been thinking about my highest point in the semester and I would have to say currently, at 2:32 a.m,I have reached my highest point. It’s crunch time! Every professor is scheduling last minute assignments, extra credit, and study sessions, but tonight I finished 95% of my assignments due on Thursday. I left the library in tears because I was proud of my accomplishments. On a personal level, I’m proud of completing my second semester of college away from home (something I wasn’t even sure was possible.)

My lowest point, well, that one is kind of hard because unlike last semester I haven’t had any terrible breakdowns. Sure, I’ve been overworked and synonym-ed out, but I have had the confidence to finish all tasks at hand. 

Would I change anything? YES. I wouldn’t have clicked the ‘register’ button beside my News Report and Writing teacher, but other than that it’s been a great, long semester.

But, I should have known I was in for a good semester when Sarah Russell said, “Spring semester–it’s time to shine!”

http://www.free-extras.com/search/1/sun.htm

4 responses to “Spring semester–it’s time to shine.

  1. Yes! So happy that I made a mention in the last blog of the semester! I learned a lot this semester too. I love that we can finally take classes that apply to our majors. I am so excited for next year. Hopefully we have some classes together!

  2. Pingback: Semester Comments « sarahjrussell

  3. I know exactly who you are talking about with News Reporting and Writing! I had him at the beginning of last semester and during the first class I dropped and walked out! He was a jerk! I felt like Intro to PR didn’t prepare me either. That class needs to be revamped to better prepare students for the PR world! I am ready for this semester to be over even though it hasn’t been a bad semester.

  4. I have to say, I have never been more happy to pass a class in my entire life!! I will take Saturday classes before I take a class with that mean old grinch again! With much thanks to you, I SURVIVED!! Anyway, I am so excited to have some classes together next semester! With all the press releases, tweeting and blogging, I think it’s safe to say we’re going to have a very busy future–to say the least.

Leave a comment

Categories