Tweet for a week

Well, this week is coming to an end. I have officially gone over my 35 tweet minimum, which I knew I would; I am a self diagnosed tweet-a-holic.

I will be the first to tell anyone that Twitter is such a great place to vent about roommates or laugh at anonymous accounts.

This week was not a difficult task for me. Every morning when my alarm goes off, I click on the little Twitter icon on my phone and read the latest tweets by all of my followers. These tweets range from “I’m sooooo drunk” to “#MakeKonyFamous.” Knowing that someone was drunk at 6 a.m. is not exactly important, but knowing that a Ugandan warlord is capturing millions of children and  forcing them to fight… is.

I have always followed the Washington Post and the AJC, but until this week I never took the time to read the articles they posted. Terrible, I know, especially since whoever tweets for the AJC is hilarious. This week made me realize that reading articles about Atlanta closing several schools or  Santorum is no longer running in the presidential race may not affect me first hand, but it could directly impact the person sitting next to me. And, what if this random girl sitting beside me in the library starts a conversation with me. Maybe her little brother’s school is closing at the end of the year. Now, I can add to the conversation–it is a cool idea.

It is also cool to think some of the news I retweeted  this week could have been read by one of my followers in Texas and they could have actually learned something other than “I’m taking a shot. Whoooooo this is going to be a black out kinda night”

Will I continue to use Twitter? Absolutely. I mean, if you scroll to the bottom of this page my Twitter feed is there.

Will I change what I tweet about? Sometimes. Of course, I want to vent about my nasty roommates sometimes, but I really want to share interesting news stories to my followers.

 

https://twitter.com/#!/emilylayne21

 

 

Leave a comment

Categories